New PL Lens Adapter for Canon 1D/5D/7D

Matthias Uhlig’s MBF Filmtechnik PL lens to Canon EOS adapter For the Canon EOS 7D and 1D Mark IV.

The adapter works with more lenses than I thought. Not just the Angenieux 24-290. Angenieux Optimo 15-40mm and 28-70mm zooms are perfect with this mount.
It also can be used with 200/300 mm Century 2000 and Arri Shift & Tilt on the 5D

No interference with the mirror, so you can pre-focus optically before switching to live view. The mount also works with Clairmont Swing-Shift lenses. Be sure to use lens supports and rods.

8 thoughts on “New PL Lens Adapter for Canon 1D/5D/7D

  1. Quality, speed and look & feel. A zoom lens is no where near the quality of a prime. That´s why they almost only use primes for movies. Also does every lens have an own “character”.

    Frank

  2. The real question is why a user will use Angenieux zoom lens instead of canon zoom lens?
    Price are totally different . Is there a technical reason for this kind of choice?

    • Canon still zooms do not hold focus thru the zoom range. Mechanically, the are inferior to the cinema lenses which will hold focus thru the entire range…and let’s not forget about the aperture.

      24-290 @ T2.8 nothing beats it

  3. I want to shoot a documentary with Canon 5D Mark ll with cinema lens (PL mount). I’m interestead to rent or buy a lens adaptor.

  4. Video reviews to come! This body is rock solid and worthy of purchase for ANY and ALL people entering or needing an advanced DSLR camera. I purchased the body only – I have several lenses from my previous Canons which are NOT currently ‘IS’ lenses. I’ve been shooting people, places and other things for more than 45 years and LOVE this camera. It’s extremely mobile. I can just flip open my tripod lock and GO! My only issue with the T3i concerns the GRID functions. These work only in LIVE VIEW MODE (as I’ve found so far). As soon as you move up to manual for full control, you lose the grid (I use the 3×3), which helps me set my composition. Yes, I can use my eye to place an imaginary grid in the viewfinder, but WHY when one is readily available.

    With my additions on the camera already, video/image reviews will be plentiful. As I learn new tricks and shortcuts, I’ll inform the public so they too can enjoy ALL of the features of this outstanding camera. The articulating screen wasn’t necessary, yet it IS what made me choose this model over the T2i. The prices were just too close to pass it up. I’ll be adding more T3i and T2i cameras to my photo biz in the coming months, as well as trying out the ‘IS’ lenses. This camera is very tight on power consumption and has extreme accuracy when you set it for pinpoint focusing as I do for model and portrait photography work. The macro features are also on par with its more advanced (and WAY higher priced), big brothers to this camera. Now, the 18.1MP sensor…..WOW! The image sizes of the CMOS sensor allow me great latitude in adjusting and tweaking my RAW images anytime I wish to be creative. If you are just starting out, are bored with the out of date “point-n-shoot,” want to upgrade your digital cams, or you want to move from film to digital, the T3i will not disappoint. It’s an excellent camera for ANY level of photographer – beginner or experienced pro, this camera really shines. Oh, and the video…..It’s 1080p HD, nothing more needs to be said. Canon, you’ve been ROCKIN’ my images for years!!!! Stay cool and keep up the great work. Dr. C, Photographic Adventures, Ltd – I’m outta here and back to taking pics!!!

  5. Wow, marvelous weblog layout! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The whole look of your web site is excellent, as smartly as the content material!

  6. a Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II and all other lenses will breathe, change the apparent focal length slightly when shifting the mechanical focus.

    Clicking aperture ring on a photo lens…

    Long focus range on cine-lenses and gears for focus and zoom/aperture.

    In photography, slight vignetting is hard to notice upon a still image. It can be disguised within the image if subtle enough. On the contrary, when a lens vignette appears within a moving image, the vignette becomes considerably more noticeable as objects enter and leave the effected area of frame or when the camera pans, tilts or travels causing the vignette to move with it.

    There are more reasons to use cine-lenses if you are not on a budget, but you can achieve great shots with photo-prime lenses if you work around these things.

Leave a Reply

