Handy little white balance gadget on your slate.

White balance is crucial for proper exposure and post production/grading. In a perfect world, you white balance your camera at every shot. But who lives in a perfect world? I got my this little handy SpyderCube for white balancing, but in the heat of shooting it seldom leaves the camera bag. I came up with the idea to mount it on the slate – et voila – it´s in every shot now.

I found a very handy way to mount the SpyderCube at the slate. It´s a spare flash rail, and a swiveling hot-shoe mount that I found in my grip bag. All it took was three wood screws and 2 minutes.

That little gadget is really a great help when it comes to balancing.
The SpyderCube is made of ABS Cycoloy, a hybrid resin that is fade proof, durable, and flame / shock resistant. In addition, colors are through-pigmented for durability, and are formulated to provide black, white and 18% grey.
Note the chrome ball at the top, which provides for checking specular highlights in your image. There is also a hole at the bottom which is a light trap, and gives a true black reading.

White balancing is a piece of cake. Just go to your favorite color grading application and use the eye droppers.

http://www.datacolor.com/eu/content/spydercube

Frank Glencairn

4 thoughts on “Handy little white balance gadget on your slate.

  1. Pingback: Grading gadget | Selfcentered

  2. This is genius🙂

    Do you mind me asking what software did you get the 6 different info readouts from at the same time? I’ve been trying to find something that allows me to lock the position for rgb info readouts within After Effects but to no avail.

    Cheers🙂

    Kraig.

    • The picture is just symbolic, I’m not aware of any software that does multiple readouts from the cube, sorry.
      Resolve can read a multi field chart, but only from certain brands, and not from the cube.

      • Ah okay, cheers Frank🙂 It was more for compositing in AE rather that colour grading but thanks for letting me know🙂 I have actually been discussing it with a known company that seems to already be on the case creating such a tool so I guess I’ll have to just stick it out a bit longer🙂

        Cheers!

        -KW-

Leave a Reply

