Sony NEX FS100 – frame rate and shutter speed tests

Okay, after having some issues with stutter/jitter while panning, I did some tests with the FS100 to see what I can get out of it.
This is actually 3 tests.

1. 25i with 1/25, 1/50 and 1/100 shutter speed
2. 50i with 1/25, 1/50 and 1/100 shutter speed
3. 50p with 1/25, 1/50 and 1/100 shutter speed

The panning speed was reasonable and about what I would do in a real world scenario, but I added a faster pan at the end – just for the sake of it.

 

It drives me nuts.
I´m used to silky smooth 25fps (50i) pans with my trusty old HVX. But whatever I do, I´m not able to achieve the same motion rendering with the FS100. It´s always judder/studder – especial at high contrast areas.

Frank

http://vimeo.com/25073459

http://vimeo.com/25074899

http://vimeo.com/25075676

9 thoughts on “Sony NEX FS100 – frame rate and shutter speed tests

  1. Brian…
    Thanks for the tests. I’m actually surprised that you didn’t get more shutter stutter at 1/25th. The color and depth of field are great.

  2. You can see it in camera.
    Meanwhile I tweaked my picture profiles and dialed down all detail/sharpness settings – helps a bit.

  3. 1/25 is pretty slow for a shutter speed, I get this shuddering on most cameras at that shutter speed and especially when shooting interlaced. At 50p I find 1/100 shutter gives me the smoothest looking motion. 1/30 gives better results but the only pal camera I know that can shoot 1/30 25p is the 7d and probably the other canon dslrs. I only use that in very low light though.

  4. Are we sure it’s not a video compression problem in-camera? Seems simlar to the jumpy-ness you see on highly compressed video such as digital television streams.

  5. Have you tried comparing shots recorded as AVCHD with shots recorded 4:2:2 to an external recorder? Looks like a compression problem to me, rather than an issue relating to frame rate/shutter speeds.
    Not that it would be a valid excuse for Sony, it’s totally unacceptable that this problem appears with the onboard recording format (as you say, it wouldn’t happen with a Panasonic camera).

Leave a Reply

