SONY FS100 K-Tone Picture Profiles Preview

Kodachrome was the first successfully mass-marketed color still film using a subtractive color method, in contrast to earlier additive “screenplate” methods such as Autochrome and Dufaycolor, and was the oldest surviving brand of color film for many years.
Kodachrome film was manufactured for 74 years in various formats to suit still and motion picture cameras, including 8 mm, Super 8, 16 mm, and 35 mm for movies and 35 mm, 120, 110, 126, 828, and large format for still photography. For many years, it was used for professional color photography, especially for images intended for publication in print media.

I always liked the tonality of Kodachrome film of the 30s and 40s. It had a great color palette. Kodachrome had more poetry in it than other film stock, a softness, an elegance. Here are some examples of what I mean:

I know that it is not entirely possible to emulate the characteristics of Kodachrome in the FS100, but I tried to come as close as possible.

K-Tone Picture Profiles are the first “out of the box” profiles I made. That means, it does not require color grading (of course you can grade it though if you want).
I look at it, as I look at specialty lenses. Some odd vintage glass, that I may find on a flea market for a few bucks and adapt it on the camera for some special looks and shots.
What I want to say is, this is not an everyday production profile. It´s more experimental, vintage, sweet-home-Alabama looking. So play with it and let me know what you think.

Since this is a preview, here are some teaser screen grabs. Prototypes as I call them.
The Profiles are made to be underexposed at least 2 stops, but than they give a very rich and dense picture.

It may take an other week or two till I´m happy with those profiles.

Watch this space 🙂

Frank

15 thoughts on “SONY FS100 K-Tone Picture Profiles Preview

Add yours

  1. Is that the stock lens you’re using Frank?
    (loving the G-log stuff frank thanks for sharing your knowledge )

  2. wow, is all I can say. I might add that they re more reminiscent of GAF64 film than Kodachrome. GAF was my favorite for its rich, red/yellow balanced emulsion.

  3. Of course – my profiles are free for everyone – just give me one or two mare weeks till I nailed the skintones and made K-Tone profiles for different lighting situations and maybe a LTU.

  4. Hey Frank

    Thanks for all your work on this and for making your work free to FS100 users. And also for documenting what you are doing. Love this Kodachrome PP.

    Interestingly, for me, I think Philip’s Christmas Shootout, as well as the price point with which the C300 came in at, has made the FS100 even more valuable. I really love this camera and it feels like its flown under the radar because, first, it has a different form factor, and then second, the C300 and Scarlet were announced. And now everyone is anticipating the arrival of the D4, D800, 5D MKIII, and the Canon 4K DSLR.

    (Rant over)

    Anyway, great work Frank.
    Jeff B

  5. Hi Frank could i ask your opinion on something??
    I’m thinking about Getting a ZEISS FLEKTOGON 4 / 50 for the FS100 one that has been reconditioned by the lens doctor in the UK converted with a Canon EF fitting, do you think this would work well the FS100??

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑